Skip to main content

How to reshare conversations using the Hearsay Extractor (Auto Share or Pre-defined Search & Share)

How to reshare conversations if the Auto Share (predefined) parameters changed or the upload failed.


This article is for whoever is running the phone collection using the Hearsay Extractor.

If the account holder changed the Auto Share (predefined) parameters, or the message sharing process was interrupted due to a lost internet connection, computer shutdown, or another issue, you can reshare without running the extraction again or plugging in the phone. Follow the steps below to reshare the conversations.


Step 1: Open the Hearsay Extractor and your case

Open the Hearsay Extractor and click Open next to your case name. You'll find your case under Last Opened or by clicking See History.

Step 2: Click Reshare Conversations

Click the Reshare Conversations button and leave the app open until you see the Upload Complete screen.

Depending on the amount of data and your internet speed, this may take some time. Do not close the app until the upload finishes.


Next steps

If the account holder sent you the extraction code:

You're done. They'll receive an email once the upload is complete.

  • Wait for their feedback before deleting the extraction backup (unless you want to keep a copy).

  • When you're ready to delete the extraction backup, follow this guide.

If you're the account holder:
Want to review the messages that were uploaded to your account? See How do I review phone data in Case Data? and How to export data from Case Exports.

Did this answer your question?